1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Payment in advance?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by rmaynard, Apr 4, 2012.

1. HI,

I am planning on starting private tutoring in a couple of weeks and was wondering what kind of arrangement people have for payment?

Do you ask for 6weeks, 10weeks, a term in advance?

Do you have a discount if people pay in for a big chunk in advance?

Do you have some sort of document/ agreement that parents sign?

Obviously I am new to this private tutoring game so any help would be great, thanks.

2. Ooooooh heavens - I can't say any of my clients would be happy about paying so far in advance - I get payment after each lesson - works for me
    Good luck in your venture - I love tutoring

3. Really?
    Do you find they are all reliable enough for this to happen?
    Do you have a policy if they cancel a lesson? or do you just not get paid?
    Thanks for your reply

4. Hi again. I have to say I have never had a problem with cancellations - a couple may have cancelled due to illness - but I fit them in on another day - perhaps I am just lucky to have really reliable people on my books - but I find that they are happy to pay after each lesson and it works well for me
    Good luck

5. bananamoore

bananamoore New commenter