1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Paying tax in an international school in Europe

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MrJoeBloggs4, Mar 9, 2019.

1. MrJoeBloggs4

MrJoeBloggs4 New commenter

Hi! I've recently been offered a job at an international school in Italy. They've offered my salary and specified it is as a result of the tax agreement for residents in UK and Ireland. They have also told me I will get residency with the contract when I go to Italy. However, here is the part that confuses me... they told me I will not have to pay tax as it is my first year abroad. Apparently I will be paying taxes in England but the salary they have offered me is my net pay because of the 'free tax agreement'.

Please can somebody shed some light on this for me? Will I really not be taxed? Or will the school be sorting the tax? How does it work?! Thanks in advance!

2. 24hours

24hours New commenter

I’ve heard of this arrangement before in Italy. I think it has something to do with an EU ‘posted workers’ law.

It essentially came about so cheap eastern European builders could work In Western Europe on an Eastern European salary

I’d be more concerned about the residency aspect if it’s a no-deal brexit

3. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

As far as I'm aware, you must be a tax resident in whichever country you spend the majority of your year in.

I'm no expert on this, but I don't see how you could have a deal because you're a resident of the UK but also become a resident in Italy. Surely you're either a resident in one or the other. If you're a resident in both then wouldn't you pay tax in both?

Definitely something you should consult a tax expert over. Perhaps Quora could help

4. blue451