1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay

Discussion in 'Independent' started by bramblesarah, May 29, 2020.

1. bramblesarah

bramblesarah Occasional commenter

Hello,
    Long story short, I am an NQT Maths teacher. Did my teacher training 5 years ago but never finished my NQT year. I currently work as a tutor. I have been contacted by an agency in regards to a mat cover at a local private school. I went to the private school as a student. Whilst doing my training I went there for some experience to observe lessons the teachers said they were paid above the pay scale.
    When the agency rung me to confirm the phone interview. She very strongly said not to mention money and that I would only be paid to scale. She basically said if I mention pay I wouldn't get the job.
    I found this a little suspicious as I have read on here that some teachers have really been screwed over not pushing for a fair salary.
    Don't mind getting paid to scale but I don't want the agency charging the school a fortune and then paying me the minimum.
    Would love some advice. Many thanks.

2. Abitofeverything

Abitofeverything Occasional commenter

Who on earth goes to interview and doesn't have a clue about pay? Sounds like either the agency or the school are trying to screw you over. If you want the job - ask about pay. If they can't be transparent with you, or pay you a decent wage, I doubt you'll want it anyway. Good luck

3. drvs

drvs Star commenter

The pay negotiation is with the agency in this situation, not with the school.

4. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

An agency paying you to scale is pretty decent and makes a nice change.