1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay scales

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by gergzzz, Nov 20, 2015.

1. gergzzz

gergzzz New commenter

Gutted - I am starting a new full time permanent position after Chrismas. At present I work part time as a Senco on Ups 2 plus sen 1. I just got a letter today saying I will be paid on MPS 3 and thAt this will be reviewed as part of the PMC at the end of the year or earlier, if sufficient evidence of application of experience is available. As the position is a class teacher I knew I would loose my Sen and leadership Ups2 but I thought I would be on mp6. I have been teaching for over 20 years and went through threshold years ago and I have been on ups2 for at least 5 years. I feel gutted. They may as well have offered me nqt starting wages.

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

I'm sorry to say your story is but the latest in long line from people who have posted similar experiences. The question to you though, as it has been to others, is why did you accept a job without knowing what the salary was?

What was the job advertised as? What was offered at interview? Was salary discussed at interview?

Is there scope for negotiation? You are in a difficult position as presumably you have resigned your current job and need work after Christmas. However, if they think you might leave after a term if they don't increase your salary they might increase it - you leaving after a term might leave them in a difficult position too

Have you got their pay policy (eg from their website)? Quite a lot of schools have retained pay portability in their own pay policies even though it doesn't exist nationally any longer.

3. gergzzz