1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay Rise for Supply?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by ictbev, Nov 14, 2018.

1. ictbev

ictbev New commenter

I've been a supply teacher for 6 years and I love it. I've been lucky enough to do mainly long term and I now find myself asked for by schools. However I've been on the same rate with the two agencies I use since I started. Are supply teachers supposed to get an increase? Even 1% would be better than nothing!

2. 50sman

50sman Lead commenter

Your pay is whatever you negotiate it to be.
    Supply agencies charge the school as much as they can get away with and charge the teacher as little as they can get away with

It is called capitalism

You need to be prepared not to work for what they offer you

3. IanSla

IanSla New commenter

Spot on 50sman.. The alternative is it could be prescribed that everyone is paid exactly the same no matter how good they are or how much they are valued

ICTBev - Decide what you want, what you are prepared to accept and negotiate if you have to. If you're being asked for then you have got the upper hand here so don't sell yourself short! Best wishes.

pepper5, JohnJCazorla and agathamorse like this.
  4. blazer

blazer Star commenter

My premium rate (longer term placements) has gone up this week from £140 per day to £145 per day. My day to day rate is still £120 as far as I am aware but I won't be doing any of that until the new year.

agathamorse likes this.
  5. blazer

blazer Star commenter

Ask the agency for a rise. What's the worse they could say?

agathamorse likes this.
  6. 50sman

50sman Lead commenter

When I did long term (jan - July 2018) I was paid £198 per day.

JohnJCazorla likes this.