1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay Question

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by pedagog, Nov 5, 2019.

1. pedagog

pedagog New commenter

Hi all,

This term I got promoted from classroom teacher to SENCo in my 120 pupil Secondary Special School for SEMH. All 120 students at my school have SEN so it is a much bigger role than in other similar-sized schools.

I do not teach but every student has SEN. I am a qualified teacher, qualified SENCo and Qualified Access Arrangements Assessor. I am also the Designated Teacher for LAC. To be the 'official' SENCo you have to be both a qualified teacher and a qualified SENCo (or working towards the qualification).

I am still only being paid as a classroom teacher despite now being in the 'Middle Management Team'. I get an SEN allowance but so do all classroom teachers at my school.

All other teachers in the middle management team get some kind of TLR but I have been told that I can't because I don't teach.

Should I be getting a TLR or be on the leadership scale? What about the Leading Practitioner Scale? Or do you think paying me the same as when I was just a teacher is correct? I should add that when I asked the question shortly after my promotion I was told that it was 'under review'.

I would appreciate your thoughts about this.

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

3. pedagog

pedagog New commenter