1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay in Kenya / Tanzania

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by traveller1, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Does anyone know about the packages in different schools in Kenya / Tanzania?
    I have been working overseas for 12 years in good schools with good packages so unfortunately have rather high expectations! II have mortgage commitments back in the UK so cannot drop my salary below a certain level.
    Can anyone give an indication of salary at the higher end of the pay scale? I currently have 15 years teaching experience.
    Many thanks,

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

There is an American international school in Nairobi, round the corner from the frightfully pukkah Muthaiga Club, and I seem to recall that they pay reasonably well.
    If you are paid in Kenya shillings, then you may have some problems.

3. I have met teachers who had stayed in some established International schools for over 2 years or so in Tanzania.

I would recommend you to go to well established international schools.

4. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Kenya: a teaching experienceCareer | Published 5 June, 2010 | By: Jennifer Beckles was talking to Simon Hill From warthogs invading cricket pitches to marvellous views of the Rift Valley, Simon Hill tells us why it’s so good to teach in KenyaMy role
    I taught in an English-style preparatory school in Kenya.. I was head of English and I quickly learnt that the best way to fill the final five minutes of any lesson was to get the children to tell a story about a game park. They love stories about baboons stealing tubes of toothpaste from tents of unsuspecting campers!

The school