1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Pay cut for temp post or risk unemployment

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by kelly_brock31, Apr 27, 2016.

1. kelly_brock31

kelly_brock31 New commenter

I am so anxious about this.

I was told at Feb half term that I would have to leave my current post where I am (found out recently!) on UPS1.
    I have been trying, fruitlessly so far, to get into middle leadership and am currently taking my SENCO qualification. I have been applying for jobs in both primary and secondary but as I am an SEN teacher without GCSE and very little A -level experience I feel very limited. I also don't drive as financial circumstances have prevented me.
    I was offered a one year job on Monday in a local primary school but they are going to downgrade me to MPS4 due to the need to give me training to change phase. When I got home to crunch the numbers I was astounded to see how much I would be losing. There is also the risk that I won't get another job offer or might not find another job this time next year. I have applications outstanding and I know that there could be more jobs in the run up to half term but I am so torn. I have recently taken on a bigger mortgage and spent 5 years working for this pay grade and don't want to have to take another 5 to get back.

2. kelly_brock31

kelly_brock31 New commenter

A few colleagues have suggested that I take the job but keep looking but then I heard that I would be in breach of contract if I did and would be blacklisted with the local authority. I don't want to burn bridges but I don't want to lose so much money either

3. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

Hi Kelly,