1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Patterns on the Page Year 2 Poetry Inspiration

Discussion in 'Primary' started by ceb831, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Do you have any fab ideas for the Patterns on the Page Poetry unit of work from the renewed framework? I'm new to year 2, starting this unit of work next week, and have a lesson observation on Wednesday. Could do with a bit of help please!

Catherine

2. Do you have any fab ideas for the Patterns on the Page Poetry unit of work from the renewed framework? I'm new to year 2, starting this unit of work next week, and have a lesson observation on Wednesday. Could do with a bit of help please!

Catherine

3. We did Lewis Caroll's jaberwocky! We dressed up as the jabberwocky using fancy dress and junk. Then in PE (dance) we devised a jaberwocky dance. In music we made and recorded the music to the poem. The children absolutely adored it and their own nonsense poetry at the end of it was brilliant! x

4. That sounds like great fun! Isn't patterns on the page unit of work meant to have an outcome of a shape poem or such like though??

5. Nope its about patterns of language. x

6. Oh! Will I ever get the hang of this!!!! Thanks.

x

7. Or perhaps both... xxx

8. Aargh!

Was thinking of doing something along the lines of animals such as snail, bee, lion, spider etc, getting children to think about words to describe their movements appearance etc, then writing their poems in the shape of the animal so swirly for the snail, across the stripes for the bee etc. Does that sound like what I should be aiming for!!!

9. Sounds great to me- remember to do loads of role play and drama in first week. Even capture insects and look at them thorugh magnifying glasses too. x