1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Part time TLR payments- why reduced?!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by rcstepek, Jun 8, 2018.

1. rcstepek

rcstepek New commenter

I'm going PT soon. I have been doing a KS role for many years now with no complaints. It is expected that I will continue to do 100% of the KS role when I am PT.
    Our school also reduces the TLR to the % PT. I will lose a not insignificant sum of money but still be expected to do the same role. Apparently "All schools do this".
    This affects many staff here, all of them women. Most are mothers.

Is this discrimination against women/ mothers? I know the unions are rather woolly. Does anyone have any advice on how to challenge? I love my school, rate my SLT highly and and well thought of (I think) but I'm not the type to take things lying down.

At present, they seem to be fumbling about to find reasons to justify it to me (my workload will decrease apparently due to the KS covering 2 years not 3 in future). However, TLR is for a KS, not for a defined period of time in my opinion!

I'm sure I'm on a hiding to nothing but input from others in a similar position would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Sundaytrekker

Sundaytrekker Star commenter

The TLR is always reduced by part time calculation. However, the workload should be too. Whether this is due to reduction in other responsibilities, sharing out some of the workload, increasing non contact time or reducing expectations of the role is up for negotiation.

Good point that this disproportionately affects mothers.

3. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

What @Sundaytrekker says.