1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Part time request - long wait for decision

Discussion in 'Part-time and job share' started by aspera, Jul 18, 2018.

1. aspera

aspera New commenter

I'm a primary school teacher, currently on maternity leave with my first child and I have requested to go back to work 4 days a week when I return (in January next year). My mat leave cover consists of a job share - 4 days for one lady and 1 day for another. I made the request during a face to face meeting before the classes were allocated for the new academic year, so probably about 2 months ago. I said that I would also put the request in writing, but my Head told me there was no need. He also said that he would be in touch during the Autumn term to let me know his decision, but he was quite negative about it, saying there are no part time roles at the moment, and it costs more for a job share than for a full time teacher. I'm 80% sure he will turn my request down. The thing is, I really need to get childcare sorted for my little boy, before there are no spaces left, so I need to know how many days I will need him looking after. I don't want to hassle my Head, I know he's had a stressful year and I'm worried it'll irritate him into saying no! Even if I wait till the Autumn term for a decision, what does that mean? Surely teachers won't be looking for new jobs until the end of October, which is much too late. Bit stuck about what to do! Any advice?

2. peapicker

peapicker Star commenter