1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Parents being present during tutor sessions

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Strangeo, Nov 9, 2018.

1. Strangeo

Strangeo New commenter

Hi all, new to the forum!
    I am a private tutor, having had the opportunity to get out of full-time teaching a few years back. I go to my students' houses for each session. Having done this for over a year, its fair to say, the situations I have been put in and the surroundings I have tutored in have varied, from lovely to extremely awkward to awfulnevergoingbackagain...
    I had a situation recently whereby the person in charge, who was neither a parent or grandparent or brother, insisted on being in the room during the session with the 15 year-old boy. Sat right behind me.
    No problem there, but a strange experience when the kid has his head low and won't speak up much, and this man is getting involved in the session also, interrupting, sharing in the session. Usually parents leave me to it so I can get on with getting them through content, building confidence, you know, DOING MY JOB!
    Before the next session I tried giving him the heads up, (the 'guardian'), and I texted him to say that perhaps we could try him being out of the room so I could try to get some sort of rapport with the kid to build confidence. I made the suggestion that we go to a public place, a cafe or a library, to do the session, instead.
    He wrote back that he was deeply offended and did not want contact with me again, furthermore he didn't want me to tutor the boy.