1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Parent Woes

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Kswaz, Mar 23, 2019.

1. Kswaz

Kswaz New commenter

Hi,

I’m currently in my third year of teaching. As the years pass, I am finding the job is making me more and more anxious, to the point where I can no longer enjoy my weekends anymore.
    Although the workload is partly to blame, I feel as though parents are my biggest worry. I have had one parent in particular writing poisonous Facebook statuses about me (usually about homework) and at the last Parent Consultations I received some negative/arrogant remarks when I tried to give constructive criticism (particularly from fathers!). I never seem to get any positive feedback from parents- even though I put myself on the line emotionally day-in day-out to ensure their child has not only an excellent education, but a good school experience/childhood too. And yet I seem to be villainised for it. I can do nothing right. I am a naturally positive person but this job is ripping me apart emotionally and I feel like a shadow of my former self.

I’m not sure where I am going wrong. I did wonder if perhaps it’s because I am ‘young and female’ I don’t want to use that as an excuse though. I just want to hear other people’s experiences of parents. Whether I am just a terrible communicator with them which is causing rifts...
    I think I’m going to leave the profession regardless. Life is too short for feeling like a failure every waking minute of every day. I went into this job thinking it would be rewarding, yet all it’s done is made me feel like a terrible person.

Sorry for the doom and gloom!

2. becky70

becky70 Occasional commenter