1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Parent question - private or school nursery?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by nightingale25, Apr 11, 2019.

1. nightingale25

nightingale25 New commenter

Hi everyone

I'm a secondary teacher but I'm posting here as a parent, and would really appreciate some advice from early years viewpoint. My little girl is 3 and a half and has been in a wonderful private nursery since she turned 2. She's very happy there, has a great relationship with the staff, and lovely friends. She's an early September birth so will turn 4 a few days into the next academic year. She's now in their age 3+ area which can take her through to school age. We applied for a place for her at the local school nursery for this September, when she will turn 4. We would like her to attend that school from reception. We're not in the catchment but their recently adapted academy admission criteria gives her an advantage of getting in if she attends the nursery first.

Our dilemma is between keeping her in her private nursery, or sending her to the school nursery in September when she turns 4. The private nursery is gorgeous - and it has great hours and flexibility - her attending in school holidays being one advantage for me as it gives me some actual holiday time. The possibility of another baby coming along in the next year means this would be extra helpful!