1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Paneer

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by sparklepig2002, Jul 22, 2012.

1. sparklepig2002

sparklepig2002 Star commenter

My husband did the shopping today and has come home with a huge block of paneer. I have never used it before. Does anyone have any lovely recipes?

2. lapinrose

lapinrose Star commenter

3. Si N. Tiffick

Si N. Tiffick Occasional commenter

I looove paneer! Saag Panner (Cheese and spinach)You can use spinach, or fenugreek greeks (palak) or any other greens if you prefer. It is also fine to use frozen spinach for quickness. If you like the spinach to be pureed that is fine too. Use a big saute pan (non stick if poss) a 1 inch cube of fresh ginger (peeled and grated or chopped)3-6 cloves garlic, peeled1 fresh green chilli, sliced (deseeded if you feel you need to)a pack of paneersalt to taste1/4 tsp garam masala1/8 tsp cayenneoil1 1/2 lb spinach, washed, trimmed, fineley chopped3 tbsp single cream-Put the ginger, garlic, chilli in a blender with about 2 fl ox water and blend to a smooth paste- this is the masala paste.-Heat the oil and put in the cubed paneer and fry them til lightly browned on all sides (doesn't take long). Put the paneer in a single layer on a plate and sprinkle with salt, garam masala and cayenne. Set aside. -Put the masala paste in the oil and fry it, stirring constantly for about a minute. Add the spinach and 1/2 tsp salt. Stir fry for a minute then put the lid on and cook with the paste for about 15 mins. If it gets too dry add water. -Put in the paneer and cream, stir and cook for another 10 mins