1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

P2 Greenhouse effect, carbon cycle and climate change

Discussion in 'Science' started by sarahcossins, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Hi
    I'm a student teacher and i'm struggling to come up with fun activites for the P2 module of 21st Century. for those who know this module i'm up to lesson 8 x-ray safety, so i still have to cover greenhouse effect, carbon cycle and climate change. I'm struggling with the workload and so have stuck mainly to the lesson ideas given by 21st C but i want to make my lessons more fun and active. Anyone got any idea's on activites for these topics? I struggle to come up with ideas sometimes. i get a mental block so any ideas, suggestions would be great.
    sarah

2. I had exactly the same trouble a few weeks ago (see ideas on teaching global warming post) A lot of people gave me some really fab advice which worked well. The upd8 link was very good and resulted in a sucessful lesson on resources and following someone else's advice I produced some resources to do a marketplace lesson on global warming which I have now used sucessfully with a top set Y10 class and a very 'active' middle set Y10 classes.

3. Let me in on the secret please ...... what exactly is a 'marketplace lesson'?
    I have more or less covered this topic now, for this year, but have found it tedious, dull, uninspiring and very low on any real Physics content that is accessible or interesting to the pupils. I vowed, last year, to try to do better this time round but have failed - a fact confirmed to me when I see the pupils glancing at thier watches in class.