1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Overseas experienced English teacher (no BA/PGCE) advice on routes into primary sector UK

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by rosequigley, Jan 27, 2019.

1. rosequigley

rosequigley New commenter

Hi there,

I'm looking for some advice. I've been trawling through various UK Gov Teaching and University websites to see how to become a teacher in UK and could do with some personal opinions from those more experienced than myself. I'm a mother of 3 children (16, 14 and 9) with no OH.
    I've 15 years experience living and teaching in France both in the public and private sector, most of that in primary, where currently I am the Head of Pedagogy and teacher in a Primary International Section, covering KS1/2 English, Geography, History, and elements of other core subjects.
    Additional experience includes being the school Librarian for their British Section, running a children's theatre association, being a host family for French language students and delivering Summer Schools and English holiday workshops.
    I would like to move back to the UK and move into primary teaching, either as a teacher or initially a TA. However, prior to relocating abroad many moons ago, I obtained only an ND and then also an HND, both at grade distinction. I do have the relevant GCSEs at C or higher.