1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Overlooked for development

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Jo2004, Dec 30, 2015.

1. Jo2004

Jo2004 New commenter

Hi everyone,
    This is a bit of a long story but I will try to be concise.

I am a member of an slt with the HT, DHT and an Assistant Head. I am a class teacher, KS 2 Leader, SENCO, subject co-coordinator and NQT mentor so consider myself to play a significant role in the school.

Our DHT is leaving at half term and I was told about this and the plans made just before Xmas. I was told that a permanent DHT would not be sought at this time as we are also having a new HT this year too so he will make the decisions.

In the meantime, I was told "we must all pull together" the assistant head would do more but other responsibilities would be given to another member of staff as part of his development. I will not be given any of this for my development because I "am pregnant and will be going on maternity leave".

I expressed my concern about this and was just told that I could obviously apply for any future positions the new head decides on.

I then found out that what is actually happening is that two new roles have been created: an . Acting DHT and Acting assistant head, both of which I have been overlooked for. I was not even told about this directly from the head, which I do find disrespectful as a member of the slt.

The AHT post has been internally advertised and staff are welcome to apply, however the entire staff know that it has already been promised to the other teacher. I feel completely overlooked and discriminated against because, I feel, I am pregnant.

So: