1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Out of my depth?!

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by MsDaisyChain, May 23, 2012.

1. I have recently - well I say recently (after a maternity leave and a rough few months due to a family death I haven't been in school), I almost think I want out!!!

As a leader in school I must provide an agenda for every meeting I lead - our head never produces an agenda for slt!! As a class teacher I must provide a plan for my lessons - the head never plans for an assembly never mind. A talk with parents!!

I know that he is part of my problem at school - I feel if I am not lead how on earth can I lead??!! I am 29 and have been teaching for 7 years. I am passionate and try very hard to keep my team up beat and positive. It's all for the children. Everything we do.

So are there any slt members that feel the se way as me? I feel like I do som much of the ground work, I keep staff happy and boost moral as well as plan the agendas for meetings, monitor planning and teaching and implement anything that will help our children achieve more and higher!

Why do I feel the head only answers the phone? Answers emails? And expects me and other member of slt to run the slt meeting!!!!

2. Please excuse errors - I did try to correct but gave up!!

3. wlaverty

wlaverty New commenter

You are probablycorrect in a lot of what you say. Often Heads do not deliver what they promise rather they are kept in place by their SMT.