1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Out of control practicals with year 8

Discussion in 'Science' started by hummi7883, Mar 10, 2012.

1. hummi7883

hummi7883 New commenter

Hi
    I am a PGCE student in my 2nd placement.
    I am having issues doing practicals with my year 8's.
    Basically it is the management and planning of the practical where I am lacking.I have seen 2 ways of managing practicals so far,like having stations and one that i really like is numbering them.
    I find myself in an awkward position when I let them go and then when I want their attention back there is no way I can do that.A couple of times I shout out freeze everyone and do not move!!I dont want to shout because that is just not my style upto now,but when it comes to practicals I find it hard not to do.
    I am looking for ways,ideas or any strategies that other experienced teachers use to control the class.I have no problems with my year 10's as they know what they are doing,but year 8's AARRGH!!
    Any words of wisdom??
    Thanks

2. Thejumpingjew

Thejumpingjew New commenter

By the sound of it what they need is training. The first few practicals you do now, operate a different system. Talk them through one step at a time. Anyone who does not do what you want, and stop when you need, takes no more part in the practical and does written book work you have previously prepared.

The moment anyone does not stop and pay attention when you ask, a huge deal needs to be made of it. I would be putting them in detention, and phoning home to parents to discuss health and safety. Possibly a short term practical ban. (I have had huge success with drivers liscence style practical passports.