1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Other Supply Teachers who ignore you

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by supplybychoice, Feb 25, 2016.

1. supplybychoice

supplybychoice New commenter

There is a local supply teacher who really annoys me.

Whenever I work in a school she is working in she seems to ignore all other supply teachers. She pretends she is a permanent teacher and sits with them and behaves like she has worked at the school for years.

Most supply teachers are friendly and supportive of each other but she couldn't give a toss.

2. Jolly_Roger1

Jolly_Roger1 Star commenter

Whenever I have met other supply teachers, we tend to cry on each others' shoulders about our experiences at the hands of rapacious agencies and duplicitous schools. Our 'misery making us strange bedfellows'.

emmalcm1 and PizzoCalabro like this.
  3. nearmiss

nearmiss Lead commenter

It doesn't matter where you work, either in education or business, there is always a lot of office politics. Many people work their passage by making their face fit. Some would call it ingratiating, others would call it being polite.
    Those are the rules of the game whether we like it or not. You have to sell yourself and get other staff to like you.
    Many of the successful people I know got ahead by a charm offensive. Small talk, compliments, flattery, birthday cards, cupcakes, smiles, agreeing with everyone, bland niceness, exuding well-rehearsed sincerity, ray of sunshine cheerfulness in adversity and all that Princess Diana stuff. It works. People like shiny surfaces.