1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Original Writing for low ability year 10's - help!!

Discussion in 'English' started by PIGGYSSPECS, Mar 6, 2007.

1. Hello everyone,
    I've got to put together a SoW for very low ability year 10's on original writing for coursework. I want to start by looking at the features of a story-how to create effective characters, settings, etc.
    Has anyone got any schemes they would be willing to share? Or recommendations for books/extracts? This is my first time teaching year 10 and it's my 2nd PGCE placement so I really want to impress!
    Thanks
    Mx

2. Hello everyone,
    I've got to put together a SoW for very low ability year 10's on original writing for coursework. I want to start by looking at the features of a story-how to create effective characters, settings, etc.
    Has anyone got any schemes they would be willing to share? Or recommendations for books/extracts? This is my first time teaching year 10 and it's my 2nd PGCE placement so I really want to impress!
    Thanks
    Mx

3. Have some stuff on descriptive writing you might find helpful - post up your email address. How low ability are they? If very low, perhaps consider using 'BOY' by Roald Dahl, which I use in some of the lessons I will send you.

4. Thanks Palbam. Most of them aren't expected to pass GCSE, 2 of them are autistic, attention spans pretty low. The school doesn't have any IWB's so I can't rely on the usual things I do to engage!
    email is samlet007@hotmail.com
    Thanks again
    Mx

5. I'm forwarding you some stuff on Fairy Stories.

6. pooky ducky

pooky ducky New commenter

Do you have smart board software on your pc?