1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Organising Literacy Time- NQT Y4

Discussion in 'Primary' started by pottyparrot, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I am new to Y4 and obviously first time i'm planning completely from scratch without mentor support. I am trying to work out how to plan my literacy time, i.e. guided reading, spelling and sentence structure.

Obviously every unit says you need to plan for spelling and sentence structure and punctuation. Do most teachers do this as a seperate session every week or just incorporate it in with the rest of their planning?

I was thinking of planning my literacy like this (how does it sound?):

Mon: I have 1 hr and a half so 40minutes on sentence structure/punctuation and then rest on normal work.
    Tues: hour of normal literacy work on lit units.
    Wed: hour of normal literacy work again.
    Thurs: same again.
    Fri: I have two hours so I was going to do there spelling tests I have to do. A 20minute spelling/word level lesson and then all my guided reading. While the other children do comprehension and sentence level work independently.

2. Hi all,
    I am new to Y4 and obviously first time i'm planning completely from scratch without mentor support. I am trying to work out how to plan my literacy time, i.e. guided reading, spelling and sentence structure.

Obviously every unit says you need to plan for spelling and sentence structure and punctuation. Do most teachers do this as a seperate session every week or just incorporate it in with the rest of their planning?

I was thinking of planning my literacy like this (how does it sound?):