1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

oral storytelling - Pie Corbett

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by missh27, Jan 25, 2012.

1. hello i wondered if anyone could help me/give advice

i am new to early years and we invest a lot of time in oral storytelling

has anyone done the squeaky story? ( i teach nursery)
    Now my children can tell the story with me, where can I go next?
    Miss H

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

Use it to write a class version of the story with an adult recording it (either writing, video or audio )

3. katiejane1

katiejane1 New commenter

have they drawn their own story maps- they wont look anything like an adult one to begin with but they can still have a go, telling the story in smaller groups, change the characters or setting to innovate your own class story then build up to completely inventing their own class story.
    I love the squeaky story.
    We keep a class story telling book and the children take it in turns to tell me a story (usually just a few children a week) which I record in the book. sometimes its makes no sense but it is their story and it still goes in the book.
    puppets/masks of characters for role-play (could make own), walk along story map on old wallpaper roll for small group retelling?