1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Options for leaving education

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by shepherda05, Aug 16, 2019.

1. shepherda05

shepherda05 New commenter

I'm seeking advice, I've been in primary teaching for 8 years, six of those in management and coaching roles, my degree is also primary education. As much as I love my job I'm finding I keep coming back to wanting to try something else, something different. But I'm met with nothing but disappointment, no one can see that my skills are transferable. I'm at that difficult point where I have to be on a certain wage to cover my mortgage so cannot take a massive hit on my pay.
    Does anyone have any advice of what options are out there? TIA

pepper5 likes this.
  2. menhir

menhir New commenter

Didn't just want to read and go. Have you tried the Civil Service as an option as they have lots of departments and areas of work that may interest you.

pepper5 likes this.
  3. HolyMahogany

HolyMahogany Occasional commenter

When you write about your transferable skills - I wonder if you are selling these in the right way and in a context that meets the person job specification you are applying for. As a successful teacher you are the following.
    • Highly organised
    • Excellent multi-tasker
    • Brilliant communicator
    • Works well in a team
    • Used to working independently
    • Always stays up to date with relevant skills and knowledge
    • Great time management skills for short, medium and long term tasks
    • Able to plan in detail
    • Thinks on ones feet and good in a crises
    • Able to show initiative
    • Supportive of others
    • Can analyse and respond to relevant data