1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Opting out of pension on maternity leave

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by lauraflora, Apr 30, 2012.

1. I'm currently on maternity leave and I'm trying to make every penny count! I'm thinking about opting out of the pension while I'm on leave. Firstly, is this possible to do? Secondly, is it worth it? Will it make that much difference? I'm on M6 and TLR 2a. I've been teaching since 2003 but have been with my current school paying into the pension since January 2011. Any advice/opinions gratefully received!

2. jubilee

jubilee Star commenter

You are in the Old TPS, generally regraded as better than the new TPS which came into being on 1st Jan 2007.
    Those who opt out of the Old TPS and don't opt back in for at least 3 months within the next 5 years, end up with any future Opt In being in the new TPS.
    You may be intending to return to work after 6 months or a year but I know several people who thought they would and then decided to stay at home for a few years.
    By staying in the pension whilst in receipt of Maternity pay, you would be protecting that 5 year gap period.
    If you decide to Opt Out, your tax will increase as you will be charged 20% on the amount otherwise taken as tax-free superannuation.
    When Opted Out of the pension, you are not eligible for the reduced Contracted Out (of the State 2nd pension) National Insurance rate and so will pay an extra 1.6% NI, not just on the amount that would have gone into the pension but on all your pay after the first £400 per month approximately.
    Opting Out would result in more take-home pay but not as much as you probably think based on your TPS deductions.