1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

opinion sought on OCR Nationals

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by nc55, Dec 1, 2009.

1. I know a lot's already been discussed about KS4 courses, so I'm sorry for bringing it up again, but: for past 3 years we've been offering DiDA for pupils with double timetable space (generally less academic not doing a language or double science) and Edexcel GCSE for more academic with less timetable space. As Edexcel GCSE is changing anyway I thought it might be a good time to switch to just offering OCR Nationals - and we could then tailor amount of units covered to how much timetable the different cohorts have available. I've no knowledge of OCR Nationals so I'm just about to start looking at specs, but any thoughts would be very gratefully recieved, or perhaps somebody could be kind enough to direct me to any relevant existing threads?

2. Go to teach-ict.com and have a look at the resources. For example, take a look at what you need to do for unit 23 on editing a video. What you will notice (if this is an accurate and representative scheme of work) is how incredibly easy it is, and the lack of any stretch and challenge in the unit. This is a shocking "qualification". The units are superb for years 6, 7 and possibly 8. League tables and Head pressure are the only reason you would do it in any other year. You certainly wouldn't teach it if teaching was your aim. On the other hand, I can see if you teach older mild special needs students, it could be quite good.

3. According to my brother-in-law's grandmother's neighbour's friend's hairdresser they have already been passed through and they are too busy celebrating to make the announcement.