1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Only taught Reception for 1 morning, being observed next week by consultancy group!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by amanda2501, Dec 1, 2011.

1. Our LEA has asked a consultancy group to inspect us next week in a supportive role. It is to be like a mock Ofsted inspection.I am a part-time PPA cover teacher working on a 2-week rolling timetable.
    Due to family issues (the death of my mother at the end of September) and my children's illnesses, I have only taught the Reception class once for 1 morning since September, and yes you guessed it, I will be being observed teaching Reception (phonics and numeracy) next week. I must also add that I started this PPA cover role in September, after being on Maternity Leave for 10 months previously, before which I was a KS2 full time teacher, so to say I am still finding my feet is putting it mildly!
    The Reception class teacher will be in with me next week and she is fantastic, I'm wondering if anyone else can give me any 'wow' ideas for delivering a Phase 1 phonics session introducing a new letter.
    Thanking you in advance.