1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Only just back and reminded how awful it is - advice please

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by sarton51, Aug 14, 2019.

1. sarton51

sarton51 New commenter

I have been a lurker on here for a while but rarely posted but would value some advice with this. I wont go into too much detail but basically I work in a school I feel very unhappy in. I am an experienced, competent teacher (was highly regarded in previous schools) but made a move to this school a few years ago and have known since early days that my face does not fit. I have been on the receiving end of some very unprofessional comments, am ignored by significant key players in the toxic wee in crowd that dominate school activities, management are inexperienced and shy away from tackling the problems of which there are many.
    I have had a series of very inexperienced line managers - a revolving door kind of situation. Each one has not really got to grips with the job and then left and then replaced by a newer, even less experienced version. Wearing as I have to effectively start afresh each time and show them the roles. I'm unpromoted.