1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Online Tuition

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by microbiology, Sep 2, 2019.

1. microbiology

microbiology New commenter

HI

I have never done online tuition before but someone has asked me if I would tutor online (skype) to a distant student.

I have a few questions:

1.) What platform do you use for online tuition, if skype- can you showing your writing? share files? can they record?
    2.) How do you take payments from a student online?
    3.) How do you make it effective?
    4.) Do you offer discount? if so, how much?
    5.) Do you book them for a regular lesson?
    6.) What equipment do I buy to write? I know I have to buy a microphone and webcam

Thanks

2. blue451

blue451 Lead commenter

Ziteboard is good - you can both write on it, either keyboard or stylus., and you can both see what the other is writing. You can also import pdf files, so things like exam papers, to work on together. The trial version doesn't allow this but the paid (not expensive) version does.

Ideally you'll need a decent tablet that you can write on properly.

Payments are fine by paypal or transfer, but there are other methods available. I find though that parents are familiar with and trusting of paypal.
    As for the bookings and the discounts, that's up to you.

Good luck.

3. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter

I use Idroo and Skype, it is free to use but if you want to upload pdfs etc there is the paid version.

You really need good graphics tablet to write on, I have a Wacom, really simple to use.

4. Ian1983

Ian1983 Occasional commenter