1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Online TA course

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by valencia, Jun 5, 2020.

1. valencia

valencia Occasional commenter

Hi I am an HLTA and my daughter is interested in doing on online TA course (she has no previous experience) Can anyone please recommend on? Thanks in advance

lau_bellagamba likes this.
  2. lau_bellagamba

lau_bellagamba New commenter

Hi Valencia!

I cannot answer your question but I am actually interested in a HLTA course. I am also interested in your question. :)

3. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Star commenter

Hi @valencia and @lau_bellagamba. You will find lots of threads on here about online courses - I have no personal experience of them, but wouldn't normally recommend them as I've read and know of many people who have had bad experiences. These are mainly with a lack of support through the course, and - more significantly - finding out that the qualifications they offer are not recognised by local authorities. I have often been involved in interviewing and employing new TAs; we have come across qualifications we've never heard of and found them very difficult to check up on. Sadly, that rarely ends with a job offer. I would always recommend a face-to-face college course with a school placement if at all possible (however, that's not easy at the moment)!

If you do need to go down the on-line route for a TA course, do your research very carefully. Make sure the course is CACHE accredited. You could also give your local authority a call before enrolling and check that they would recognise the qualification awarded. I have seen good reports about Stonebridge College, might be one to take a look at.