1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Online Masters in Education

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by v12, Mar 26, 2012.

1. v12

v12

Is that the same as a Master's Degree?
    These normally take at least two years to complete part-time and require some contact with the awarding university or college, otherwise they will certainly be regarded as somewhat inferior.
    Institutions that award such on-line degrees are sometimes known as 'degree-mills' - especially if they offer you extra credits for, say, being alive or some spurious work experience.

2. Actually, I have a reputable Masters from the University of Bath in the UK. It was done via Distance Learning, and some of that can involve summer school and study centres at different places around the world, depending on your time limitations and subject interests, or the whole thing can be completed on your own. It is very flexible. It is around £700 a unit (5 units) plus a dissertation which is more expensive. I thoroughly enjoyed it, learned a great deal, the tutors were excellent and I can recommend it.

3. Oxford Brookes University in the UK used to have a very good course. I am not certain if it is still running. It was, like the Bath course, a distance learning course.

4. lovely.lady

lovely.lady Occasional commenter

www.open.ac.uk
    One of the oldest providers for online degrees. I'm studying towards my M.Ed at the moment and am enjoying the challenge of revisiting pedagogy and child pyschology. Yes my main incentive is career but not just that - it also gives me a release from just primary education reading!