1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Online courses

Discussion in 'Personal' started by oldsomeman, Mar 27, 2020.

1. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Star commenter

My son has been suggesting to keep my mind alive I do online courses.
    It is hard because I would want to do something new or useful. I also have little or no cash.
    Ideas, as at my age I do not think I am unlikely to be employed to use workplace studies, but prepared to have suggestions.
    I might point out...I do not really need them in horticulture as I have qualifications plus experience. IT management I have a Degree in systems management (although never used) Not sure I need building construction, event or helpdesk qualifications, etc. I would love to do practical courses but my arthritis seems to preclude some sorts of work.
    I could do languages but harder to learn as older, but at present unlikely to get practice due to the virus and although I prefer German I also have odd smatterings of French and Spanish but not fluid.
    Could folks kindly tell me of a course they have found benefit in undertaking? Not to be nosey, but as I am willing to take up a challenge once I understand what's involved.
    Also which online provider organiser you have found useful
    Thanking you in advance xx

Jamvic likes this.
  2. agathamorse

agathamorse Senior commenter

I've done a few on FutureLearn. They have a huge range of courses from universities around the world. Most are free.
    I enjoyed the introduction to archaeology one most. They do a few language courses too: French, Dutch, German and Italian.

3. oldsomeman