1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ongoing bullying incidents among children

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by grussell1, Mar 12, 2016.

1. grussell1

grussell1 New commenter

I want to pick your brains about an incident (that I felt quite strongly about) that happened in one of my previous schools. I feel the dust has settled now and I want to know how to deal with something like this should it happen again (I am a new teacher so would appreciate the support).

During my time as class teacher I noticed Child A harassing Child B on a regular basis, for example calling Child B derogatory adjectives, pushing/shoving Child B and moving to another carpet space to sit away from Child B - this behaviour also prompted other children to begin similar behaviour too, but from what I observed Child A was consistently the main ringleader and perpetrator (this was also confirmed by old CTs). Child A has known behaviour issues and has been 'excluded' from school many times, even using profanity with myself. Child A is on a report card due to their overall disruptive behaviour and that is the only form of behaviour support they receive, which I disagree with - Child A needed an additional behaviour support intervention. Each incident that I observed as bullying was dealt with in accordance with the anti-bullying policy and behaviour policy by myself and TA.