1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

One pupil who seems to love been the centre of attention.

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by teachingisacalling, Mar 19, 2012.

1. I am a trainee teacher and have not long taken over a year 7 class in which there is one boy who seems to love to be the centre of attention. He is not badly behaved but when I ask the class a question his hand shoots up. Firstly if I don't pick him to answer the question and move onto the next activity he insists on making his point and gets very agitated. When I do pick him to answer he begins to answer the question then when I start to move onto another activity or to asking another pupil he begins to ramble on about sometimes relevant but sometimes irrelevant silly things which he thinks could be associated with the question. When I ask him to stop he's had his turn he talks loudly over me as if he cannot here me. I have noticed he does this in form period too. How do I get this to stop? He is a really lovely child and has some good answers. How do I control this behaviour without discouraging him to still contribute to questions and discussion without him fearing he will get in trouble.
    Thanks