1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

one more one less -lesson obs help please

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Radient, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Ive just returned to work after being off long term sick. Prior to my illness I was a Y5 teacher. I have now been placed in reception (gulp) for one day a week only, and am being observed by the head on Thursday. Im very nervous and feel like a duck out of water. Ive only just learnt everyones names..
    Anyway, I was thinking about doing the lesson on one more one less, but was wondering if anyone on here had any advice/ tips/ pointers..
    I need to show good differentiation/ afl obviously, but Im a bit of a loss for ideas.
    Any help would be most gratefully recieved

2. I'm in nursery where I find a big leap between 1 more and I less. Think about your context, what topic you are doing and how can your resources reflect that ie not using cubes! Weave a story into the activity, can you do it outside ie a treasure hunt finding items for one more and hiding items that you have for others to find for one less . Remember to use the term'altogether ' each time to reinforce the final count, Think round your room for other opportunities for more/less that you could have ie items in the sand if they had 1 more .... (whatever they are using in the sand), pegging items on washing line etc. Sing counting down songs/rhymes at carpet time reinforcing the 'one less' each time. Hope that gives a few ideas PM me if I can help any more.