1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

On MP6 for several years (and not inspired to 'move upwards'). Advice?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by lou5357, Nov 21, 2015.

1. lou5357

lou5357 New commenter

Dear all,

I've been working at the same school for over three years (on long term supply), but have not yet gone over to contract despite being offered one two years ago. (It's complex! In short, I dithered for quite a while, and then waited 9 months to get cleared on a CRB). I have been teaching for 12 years and this is a lovely school - indeed, the best I have ever worked in.)
    I have spoken to my regional union officer who has advised me to 'sign' before we move over to an academy (next Easter), otherwise expect a huge pay cut. )-: I subsequently spoke to the head about this and she told me that I will not get a cut in pay when we become an academy.

The thing is, I like the way things are. I'm very nervous about going onto contract because what I do, I do because I want to, not because I have to, and for this reason I have not (historically) been interested in going onto contract or moving up the pay scale. In short, I can't see any benefit to me moving onto a permanent contract at the moment.

I would be more inclined to sign a contract if I could further my own CPD - if the school would would agree - but I don't know what's available these days. I was, for example, quite interested in doing an AST course, but it's no longer available.

Quite frankly, I don't know what to do with myself. I don't want to be a HOD or a head of KS, so I am at a loss of where to go from here.

Any advice welcomed.

2. Yoda-

Yoda- Lead commenter

You want a worth while pension