1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

On line translations

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by JO9832, May 2, 2011.

1. JO9832

JO9832 New commenter

Hi
    Am posting on here in the hope that someone may be able to help me . I am a Primary school teacher currently working as a Nursery teacher. I have 9 different languages spoken in my setting. I am looking to find a programme that will allow me to translate letters to parents and something i could type/speak into that would then 'talk' in the required lanuage as some of my parents are unable to read for example urdu but speak it. My concern is obviously that the translations are correct and if i need to buy a programme keep the expense to a minimal . I have some languages ie Georgian that are so hard to find 'real' translators for and the LEA can only pay for this so often . I have of course where possible used other parents to interpret for me . I just feel so sad when people turn up when school is closed or an event is happening just because we cant understand each other.

Many thanks

Jo

2. JO9832

JO9832 New commenter

Hi