1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

On food safety

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by modelmaker, Apr 21, 2011.

1. modelmaker

modelmaker Occasional commenter

There has been some controversity in the news overthe amount of food waste recently. All about sell by dates and so on. Like many posters have previously expressed, my view has been that if it smells ok.you're in with a chance, and the fact I'm still posting ought to be a testimony to this.
    However, I'm not an expert.
    Some years ago I recall lapin posted something about the dangers of keeping cooked rice, which many of us would otherwise view as relatively harmless. Since then, I've been cautious, letting the dog enjoy what's left. I'd love her to repea her knowledge.
    I watched The last episode of Filthy Cities today describing how how New Yorkers were subjected a century ago and later to toxic additives in their sausages to make rotting meat acceptable in their hot dogs.
    Are we too fussy these days? Should we be more fussy?

2. lapinrose

lapinrose Lead commenter

I could post reams on food safety, but the essential information lies in knowing that food poisoning bacteria do not change the smell, taste or appearance of the food, that's why they're so ndangerous. They multiply and produce toxins about every 10-20 mins, especially in temperatures in the range of 5-65C.
    Basically the Use by dates are the ones that should be followed to ensure you don't poison yourself or anyone else. Now I have used beef and lamb after these dates, but never chicken or fish.
    Yes there has been a lot of confusion about the dates, veg you don't need use by dates as it's not a high risk food, milk and cream go off anyway, yoghurt is fine.