1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ofsted worries

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by beats_56, Feb 4, 2011.

1. Agency just rang and offered me four mornings next week with the possibility of it continuing...great news! However, they also mentioned that the school are expecting Ofsted at any time and to be prepared for this. I have never experienced Ofsted yet as I am new to supply and therefore I'm a tad worried about it. I accepted the job because I need the work. I was also told to prepare my own lessons, which is fine but when Ofsted is mentioned, it is a bit worrying...will they need to look at any plans etc. Has anyone experienced Ofsted whilst on supply?

2. Agency just rang and offered me four mornings next week with the possibility of it continuing...great news! However, they also mentioned that the school are expecting Ofsted at any time and to be prepared for this. I have never experienced Ofsted yet as I am new to supply and therefore I'm a tad worried about it. I accepted the job because I need the work. I was also told to prepare my own lessons, which is fine but when Ofsted is mentioned, it is a bit worrying...will they need to look at any plans etc. Has anyone experienced Ofsted whilst on supply?

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

As a supply you're not treated any differently by OFSTED.
    There are now reduced criteria for OFSTED, so do a quick search.
    The main point is they'll probably be in your lesson for 15 mins But will want to see evidence of learning & improvement.