1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ofsted inspector questionning

Discussion in 'Governors' started by ditwee, Apr 19, 2017.

1. ditwee

ditwee New commenter

Is it acceptable for an Ofsted inspector to ask me, a governor who is an ex-teacher, after I explained that I used to be a teacher, about whether I left teaching on good terms, or some words to that effect?

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

In my experience they can be as unpleasant as they bloody well like.

ditwee and dunnocks like this.
  3. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

They are allowed to say anything, and ask anything, as far as I know. I could give examples, but don't want to be too recognisable....some pregnancy related questions and comments have been down right nasty.

4. ditwee

ditwee New commenter

Which indeed he was. Do I have grounds for making a complaint about his enquiry, which I believe was aimed at disparaging my ability to understand the breadth of the current curriculum? I understand that complaints have to be submitted straight away.

5. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

speak to you chair of governors, or head

6. ditwee

ditwee New commenter

Chair is brand new. I am the oldest and the longest serving governor. I have never experienced this before in any of the Ofsteds I have been through as either teacher or governor. I will speak to the Chair anyway, but I was hoping Ofsted inspectors have their own professional standards, but I cannot find any online.

7. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

speak to them anyway.. and hang around a bit, some better informed people might come by later on.

ditwee likes this.
  8. Lattelady

Lattelady New commenter