1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ofsted...........Do not be afraid.........................

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by Dressmate, Jan 28, 2012.

1. [​IMG]Just had to say we had Ofsted the second week of term. One of the first schools inspected using the new Ofsted framework. The team who came to the school were fantastic and really made you feel at ease. I did nothing different in my lessons. (My year 11 students who i was teaching when I was observed commented on this). I found the whole experience very very positive. (have been through two other Ofsteds and neither were really a problem) I was part of the group of staff interviewed as a middle leaders and as I am a teacher governor was also on the panel of governors who spoke to the lead inspector.
    Our school was judged OUTSTANDING in every category. We are a mixed ability comprehensive which recently became an academy. We do not select pupils and have a very wide range of abilities. Our results at GCSE are Good (85%+ on average).
    I am very proud to be a member of staff at the school and to know that our amazing D and T results contributed to the grading which the school received. [​IMG]

2. Congrats
    Just wanted to ask you a couple of question regarding DT and the new Ofsted framework, if you don't mind.
    As a DT teacher how do you show that 95% of your student have made progress? We have 2 hrs lesson and feel that in a 20 mins observation it would be difficult to show that much progess with so many pupils.
    Thanks

3. I am assuming you do a considerable amount of practical work in a 2hr lesson - which ever year group you are teaching.