1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ofsted declares no more tracking, especially data tracking

Discussion in 'Education news' started by MrMedia, Jul 6, 2018.

?

Tracking causes workload issues

1. Yes agree

2. No, I’m a senior manager and feel that it is absolutely fine

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. MrMedia

MrMedia Lead commenter

Well, it says it 'does not expect you to do it'. Give it three years. What will it look like in school?

688CAAEB-DFB2-49E4-9B4B-422818060BE2.jpeg

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

Your thread title "Ofsted declares no more tracking..." is a rather optimistic reading of Ofsted's "clarification" I think. As you say, it only says Ofsted has "...no expectation about how..." assessment is done and that "...numerical data..." is not required. It doesn't say schools shouldn't track with numerical data. They won't be marked down if they don't use numerical data and they won't be marked down if they do.

The requirement for schools to assess progress remains of course so schools will need to assess and record it somehow.

Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  3. ridleyrumpus

ridleyrumpus Senior commenter

What about secondary and FE?

4. MrMedia

MrMedia Lead commenter

'Progress' as a concept is being undermined on a range of levels. And Gibb doesn’t mind. It fits his text books for sale with scripted lessons and topic tests for weak teachers model.