1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OFSTED and the issue of 'Cultural Capital'

Discussion in 'Education news' started by starship7, Dec 11, 2019.

1. starship7

starship7 New commenter

I wanted to open up a debate around the notion of 'Cultural Capital' espoused by the resent OFSTED 2019 guidelines for schools. It is astounding OFSTED are using the terms 'Cultural Capital' to judge learning aspirations and ways of teaching young folk. Having been a teacher for a long time and read the recent OFSTED paperwork (and dipped in and out of postgraduate learning I am left reminiscing about the times before teaching when I studied Popular Culture and Philosophy of Education respectfully) and know a thing or two about Bourdieu's outlook on cultural capital.
    I would like to know why OFSTED have included 'cultural capital' without indeed respect to 'Social Capital'?

Let us not fool ourselves, cultural capital implies aesthetic appreciation. If we are to be 'responsive teachers' then fundamentally we know that child development is powerfully shaped by social capital (families, and other social networks that children and young folk engage in outside of the educational institution).

Today children live in a deficit of social capital. Lives and relationships are diverse and fragmented = we have pluralistic values. In return this lack of secure, predictable and determined social capital means more than ever as educators, we must foster connections with children's families -not only through the means of art, music and literacy, (cultural capital) but knowing we are educational vehicles for convening diverse groups of 'difference!'