1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Offering the Truth About Supply - Questions Answered (Hopefully)

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by educ80, Aug 9, 2010.

1. educ80

educ80 Occasional commenter

I work as a recruitment consultant for a Supply Teaching agency and during my 7 year career have worked for both large and small agencies in both Primary and Secondary Education.
    I initially joined the TES website to get job reminders but more and more frequently I now check the forums in order to gauge the emotion and feeling of supply teachers both locally and nationally. It helps me communicate better with my own staff and have an improved understanding of the matters at the heart of the problems they face.
    Although I empathise with many of the difficulties faced by supply staff as I often hear about them directly, I also find the attacks on agencies (frequently we are 'money-grabbing' 'un-caring' 'absent' and 'unaware') a little one-sided, especially on a forum which allows very little recourse for defence. To this end, and as its the summer holidays and we tend to be less busy as agencies, I would love to try and offer an honest, open and straight forward forum for those of you with pressing issues, general queries, criticisms or just a few gripes about the system.
    I will do my utmost to give both a proffessional and personal opinion whilst remaining unbiased and anonymous in order to avoid the inevitable accusation of self-promotion. If I can help anyone improve their supply career, supply options or dispel some of the myths then it has been a positive exercise. If people would rather simply complain and carry on belligerently then that of course is the freedom they have.