1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Offering KS4- advice for dealing with school management

Discussion in 'Music' started by englishteach101, Nov 18, 2011.

1. englishteach101

englishteach101 Occasional commenter

I work at an Academy and have just been told that they won't allow me to offer music at KS4. I don't know what to do for the best for my department. I'm a newly-promoted teacher in charge of music and teach all the key stage 3 lessons (only taken over a couple of weeks ago since my colleague left) and I was hoping to offer KS4 music for the first time from next September.
    I've been told this morning that this is unlikely to happen next September now and this feels like a bit of a slap in the face for all I'm doing in the department, running extra-curricular, planning all the lessons and running concerts etc. so I don't really know how to deal with this as I've only just been promoted to being in charge.
    Any help or advice from more experienced leaders of departments would be appreciate on how to appeal this if it's already set in stone, or how to put an effective argument together to support running a GCSE group if this is not already a done deal.
    Thanks for your help
    S

2. This happened to a friend of mine two years ago and he's managed to win management over. He did GCSE music as a twilight course initially but his numbers have grown so spectacularly that it's now on the timetable proper.
    Is a twilight course viable for you?
    I also think that promoting Music as being one of the visible elements of the school, concerts etc, and its power to positively promote the school could be worth trying.