1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Offered Teaching Assistant Job Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Morrisj5, Jun 17, 2011.

1. Hi all, am looking for a bit of advise. I've been offered a teaching assistant post in a primary school in Catalonia region of Spain. I've never worked as a teaching assistant, as I am a fully qualified primary teacher in Ireland. In fact, we don't have teaching assistants in Ireland so I don't really know what the role entails...basically my salary will be around ?1300. My main reason for taking this job would be to immerse myself in Spanish lifestyle and experience teaching in another country.

The advise I'm looking for is, basically:
    1. What is the main role of a teaching assistant?
    2. Do many primary teachers take up these positions?
    3. Would this be a good salary for Spain and easy enough to live on? It's much less that Ireland...but I take it living expenses are cheaper...

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks ;-)

2. Hi all, am looking for a bit of advise. I've been offered a teaching assistant post in a primary school in Catalonia region of Spain. I've never worked as a teaching assistant, as I am a fully qualified primary teacher in Ireland. In fact, we don't have teaching assistants in Ireland so I don't really know what the role entails...basically my salary will be around ?1300. My main reason for taking this job would be to immerse myself in Spanish lifestyle and experience teaching in another country.

The advise I'm looking for is, basically:
    1. What is the main role of a teaching assistant?
    2. Do many primary teachers take up these positions?