1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

offered new job for September...HELP

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by k1rstyd, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I graduated last July and have been doing supply since. The week before Easter I was phoned and offered an interview for a fixed term job starting in September. Two days before the interview I realised I was pregnant (unexpected), but I went for the interview anyway because I wasn't even sure I would get it (It was internal only & they had a few supply they knew). But I was phoned and offered the job verbally and told a contract would be sent out. To be honest I was in a daze anyway because it was an 'everything happening at once' situation.
    Now I am totally confused about what to do. I wouldn't want months off on Maternity leave anyway (I'd go stir crazy, I'm not a stay at home person!) and I've worked out I'm due 25th November but because of complications with my first, I'd have a C which would be approximately 2 weeks before. So, realistically, I could (& would) work until October half term and be back in January.
    This is my dream school, year group etc, but I can't help feeling like a fraud and obliged to tell the head & give her the option to give her the get out. My desire to work at that school and give it my all hasn't and won't change. I'm only 7 weeks now so I know I don't need to say anything and that plenty can go wrong but if I have been offered the job, surely it would be better to give her prior warning for maternity etc and let her know I'm not taking the mick!
    HELP!!