1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

offered job on MP5 when I was on MP6 in 2009. Should I ask for MP6?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by richfruitcake, Jun 23, 2011.

1. richfruitcake

richfruitcake New commenter

I have been doing supply work since November 2009. Previously I worked for an LEA on MP6 until end of September 2009.
    I have just been offered a job with same LEA from Sept 2011 but only on MP5. Should I ask for MP6? I do want the job no matter what.

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

If you should be on MPS6, they cannot only pay you MPS5, even if you were willing for them to do so.

3. becky70

becky70 New commenter

They've made an error - if you were on M6 before you have to start your new job on M6.

4. richfruitcake

Thank you for your replies. I spoke to County and they said it is up to the school what they offer me. I spoke to my union and they said I should be on the same spine point I left at and to contact the union rep of the school I will be working for. I have written a letter of acceptance and said I am entitled to MSP6, could they investigate but that I will accept the position regardless. I cannot aford to loose the job for the sake of a spine point.

5. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

county don't seem to know what they are talking about........if you left on M6, you re-join on M6