1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Offered £100 per day. Feel like a mug.

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Anonymity, Sep 16, 2015.

1. Anonymity

Anonymity Occasional commenter

I need some advice.

i only want ad hoc supply - I need some more money to cover the bills, but I don't want long term, nor to work everyday (due to family medical issues/ appointments etc.), so I'm looking at supply.

I'm a UPS3 teacher...

One agency said they could offer no more than £120, the other that they offer EVERYONE on their books £100 per day in order to get me work - they say the school's won't pay more (yet reading on here, it's them that would get less if I was paid less).

I've had three jobs, one at the end of July and two this week. I was given no planning for the job today. I spent more time yesterday sourcing plans than I did when I worked full time (due to not knowing what resources there would be, nor knowing the children or their levels.

is this right? My pay, once the childcare costs + petrol costs are removed is about £30-40, so yes I'm better of, but it seems disproportionally low for what I'm doing. I'm not expecting supply to equal my UPS pay, but I have so far been placed due to my experience - difficult schools and no planning. They want my experience, but don't want to pay for it.

PLEASE does anyone have any advice? Or do I just need to suck it up?

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi